The Whole World Knows

I think it would be safe to say that the whole world knows that what we think about and what we say usually happens depending upon how strong our faith in those words are. 

At one point in my life I had learned about a skill of getting to understand the emotions and work through them by drawing hearts. So one day when my granddaughter was upset I got 2 pieces of paper and some crayons out and we sat down to draw our hearts. The rule was that we had to use different colours to describe how we are feeling in our heart at that particular time. Then we would section up the heart and colour in the various parts labeling them and then expressing what was happening and how we can make the desirable parts “bigger” and the undesirable parts “smaller”. My grand daughter started by making a legend beside her heart, similar to the ones you see on maps, so I knew what the colours meant.

As she was colouring in her heart  I noticed that she began with all the “bad” feelings…then I noticed that while she was colouring in a good feeling she coloured a portion of it and then paused as though she was sizing up the situation, glancing at the bad feelings and the looking at the ‘good’ section, then after pondering for a moment she would add a larger piece to that “good” feeling in her heart. Then she would again pause, looking at her paper, I could see she was really contemplating, then she would add another larger section on top of the “good” feeling until it was the biggest feeling on the page.

 When she was done we began to talk about our hearts and she told me what each section was. Then I asked her why the “good feeling” part of her heart changed. She said “Well after I coloured it, I was thinking and I felt that it was bigger than what I drew, and then I thought some more about it and it still wasn’t big enough”

I responded, that is nice that the “good” part got bigger than the “bad” parts”.

She said in an astonished voice “Gramma, whatever we think about it makes it bigger, so if we want to be happy we just have to think about being happy”. I was amazed that a 7 year old could have such insight.

We had such a wonderful time discovering a bit more of who we are inside and more truth about how we can change our situations by our contempation of what is good.

Philippians 4:8  Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.

Be blessed and inspired.

Heather

One thought on “The Whole World Knows

Leave a Reply

