A New Recipe

 

One of the intentions of this blog is to share and enrich the lives of others in various ways. Sharing recipes is one way that I would like to do this. Here is a simple Banana Bread Recipe that I have transformed into a Vegan recipe. I hope you enjoy it. 

Dry ingredients 

2 and1/2 cups of flour 

1-1/4 cups of sugar or 1 package of dates soaked in boiling water. 

1&1/2 tsp baking powder 

1 tsp baking soda 

1 tsp salt 

Wet Ingredients 

3 heaping tblsp of soft Earth Balance 

2 heaping tblsp Veganaise 

1&1/8 cups of soft bananas mashed (approx 4 large) 

1 tsp vanilla 

If too dry add a bit of soy milk or apple sauce until the consistency of a smooth batter. You can add dry fruit and nuts and even other kinds of fruit if you add apple add cardamom or you can add pineapple chunks they taste great with the banana. Be creative and enjoy. 

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees fh. Grease and flour pan. 

Mix dry ingredients in a bowl and then mix well wet ingredients in another bowl then add the two together. Pour into the pan and bakes for approx 30 min, until the knife comes out clean.

6 thoughts on “A New Recipe

  1. Hi. This recipe looks incredible… I just have a couple of questions that I hope you can answer.

    What is “Earth Balance”? Is that a margarine or butter product?
    Also, what is Veganaise?

    Thanks,
    Jaisen

    • HI Jaisen, Yes Earth Balance is a vegan “butter” like product, it is from the States and Veganaise is a “mayonaise” substitute. The only reason that I posted this is because I am vegan and it is hard to get a good recipe. I found that being at such a high altitude here in Calgary, a regualr recipe is often drier here, so you might want to cut back o the liquids. Also I have cut the sugar out of this recipe when I make it so if you use the dates omit the veganaise and the milk. You can use coconut oil in place of Earth Balance, it actually tastes great. I sometiems get creative and add nuts or dried fruit, even shredded coconut. Let me know if it turns out for you.

      • I’d love to try the recipe, but I don’t eat anything that contains vinegar or grape juice and I believe the Veganaise does contain one of the two (I forget which). Do you know of anything that could be substituted for the Veganaise?

  2. Yochana, I know what you mean, you do not have to use Veganaise it is there just for moisture, and it helps rising. However I would like to put your mind at rest about vinager, it is apple cider and in my understanding that is not the same as other vinager. The reason we stay away from regualr vinager is that it “pickles” everything therefore it stops or inhibits digestion whereas this is the opposite I understand that it is very good for the digestion and actually enhances or stimulates it, I also understand that it is good for the liver where as other vinagers are horrible for the body and cause the arteries to become hard. You can play around with this recipe, you may need to anyway since it will depend on your location as well. I have not put Veganaise in for a long time since it is very expensive, but I have added coconut oil instead of Earth Balance and even homemade almond milk instead of soy…Thanks for sharing and visiting my blog. There are many more things to come, please feel free to subscribe.

Leave a Reply

