Honestly Mistaken

You may have noticed that on my signature in the “about ” section I have 2 quotes. One quote is from Attorney Richard Humpal. This quote states that 

When a man who is honestly mistaken hears the truth he will either quit being mistaken or cease being honest. Attorney Richard Humpal

The reason that this quote is so powerful to me is because I have had many experiences that have taught me that there are many men (and women) who are seemingly honest, when they find that they have been honestly mistaken, they cease being honest. I have come to discover the hard way that it is more often than not that a person will cease being honest. It is a sad fact…we must diligently be judging ourselves, and continually be asking for the eyes to see and the ears to hear lest we become deaf and blind to our own estate. When I was in my early 30″s I heard a man named Leo Buscaglia talk and he said that when he was young he was told, if you get too big for your britches they will split. I never forgot that. This is the problem, when people get too big for their britches and they split, they fight like mad to cover up and deny it. Instead of saying ooops I need help here, I have been too proud or what have you.  

I pray that the Father of us all will keep a watch over my mouth and my fingers as I type these blogs. I pray that He will keep me from getting “too big” and that He will do as the Scripture saith:

Proverbs 30:8  Remove far from me vanity and lies: give me neither poverty nor riches; feed me with food convenient for me:
9  Lest I be full, and deny thee, and say, Who is the LORD? or lest I be poor, and steal, and take the name of my God in vain.

Thank You Father for your mercy and Your blessings.

Heather

4 thoughts on “Honestly Mistaken

  1. How true are these words … sometimes people get embarrassed and they will do all kinds of things to hide the truth. It is much better though, when, through our love of Christ, we are humble and able to admit to our mistakes. Your post is very relevant and profound. Thank you!

    • Yes, if a person has turned left and then discovered that he was supposed to turn right…will he continue to go the wrong way and now justify himself by stateing that left was the right way all along??? Sometimes we humans think that if we justify what we are doing it makes us “right” what we fail to realize is that byadmitting when we are wrong , and turning around, the enemy is disarmed…
      It is true, if we allow ourselves to fall on The Rock…we are transformed. 🙂
      Thanks for visiting Jaisen, and I am looking forward to getting to know “the cafe” and it’s members more:)

  2. Hi ! I have question about the qoute ” when a man is honestly mistaken he either cease being mistaken or cease being honest ” what does it mean? I’ll be so glad to found it out

    • hi, this quote is very true and profound because it reveals a person’s true heart. I have found that some people have “preached” some truth and then when they found that they were wrong, they wouldn’t admit it and correct it, instead they would rather continue to keep the lie going for whatever reason and therefore he or she is no longer honest…yes a sad situation. But an honest person will admit when he is wrong and do whatever he can to fix it…no matter what the cost therefore retain their integrity. I sure hope that answers your question.

Leave a Reply

